Five generations of winemakers and builders

The spirit of Family. Tradition and quality.

The Joseph Janoueix family has been perpetuating the art of vines and wine for over 100 years. The reputation of its wines has been built by the constant search for quality and respect of its customers. The Joseph Janoueix house remains united and continues to perfect the company.

First generation :
Jean Janoueix and Léonard Estrade

At the end of the 19th century, Jean Janoueix, born in Combressol (Corrèze) in 1867, a harsh country that forged strong, enterprising and obstinate men, as well as Leonard ESTRADE, decided to embark on the wine trade.

Second generation :
Joseph et Marie-Antoinette Janoueix

In 1930, he fulfilled his dream: he acquired the Château Haut-Sarpe in Saint-Emilion in the Grands Crus Classés terroir; a little later, he added to his heritage the Châteaux La Croix and La Croix Saint Georges in Pomerol.

On the strength of this first success, in 1932 he set about restoring the estate and has never ceased since that time to enlarge his wine-growing heritage, with his three brothers following in his footsteps.

In 1933, Joseph Janoueix married Marie-Antoinette Estrade, who was also of old stock from Corrèze and the daughter of a trader. A woman with a sharp mind, a heart and action, she was the indispensable complement to Joseph.

Third generation :
Jean-François and Françoise Janoueix, Marie-Josèphe Chabut-Janoueix

Jean-François Janoueix, the son of Joseph Janoueix and Marie-Antoinette Estrade, took over from his father at the head of the company and in visits to the clientele which he had since extended across the world. He in turn fulfilled a specific dream: that of resurrecting his latest acquisitions: the Château Castelot in Saint-Emilion (an old residence where King Henry IV, is said to have stayed) and the Château La Croix Toulifaut in Pomerol.

Françoise Janoueix, Jean-François' wife, is responsible for exports and finances.

Marie-Josephe Chabut-Janoueix, sister of Jean-François, is also involved in the administration of the House; her son, Henry Chabut-Janoueix, a graduate in viticulture and oenology, is the general and commercial director.

Fourth generation of the Family Joseph Janoueix

Jean-Pierre Janoueix, son of Jean-François and Françoise Janoueix, canvasses the Nordic countries. He owns the Château La Gasparde property in Castillon Côtes de Bordeaux, Château Queyron and Haut Ferrandat in Saint-Emilion Grand Cru.

Jean-Philippe Janoueix, Jean-Pierre's younger brother, is the talented owner of Châteaux la Confession (Grand Cru Saint Emilion), Croix-Mouton and Le Conseiller (Bordeaux Supérieur), and since 2014 of Château Cap d' Or renamed Cap Saint George (St Georges St Emilion). He was named "«Vintner of the year».

Henry Chabut-Janoueix took on his grandfather's clientele in Brittany and Normandy. He owns the Châteaux Franc-Cantenac (Grand Cru Saint-Emilion), La Rose Saint Georges (St Georges St Emilon) and Saint Genès (Castillon Côtes de Bordeaux).

Jean-Joseph Limoujoux-Janoueix, son of Marie-Françoise Limoujoux-Janoueix, is commercial manager of the Corrèze department.

Olivier Badia is very effectively involved in the sales force in France and Belgium. His son Thomas is the great grandson of Marie-Antoinette and Joeseph Janoueix.

Frédéric Chevrier-Dupin, son-in-law of Marie-Josephe Chabut-Janoueix, has chosen to leave the bank to complete our team.

Fifth generation :
Joseph Janoueix and Paul-Alexandre Chevrier-Dupin

The fifth generation is on its way to carry the torch. Joseph Janoueix and his cousin Paul-Alexandre Chevrier-Dupin have just joined Purpan's school to become agronomic engineers.

Now, eight members of the younger generation are ambassadors for our Domains.

Cinq générations de viticulteurs et de bâtisseurs

L’esprit de Famille. Tradition et qualité.

La famille Joseph Janoueix perpétue l’art de la vigne et du vin depuis plus de 100 ans. La renommée de ses vins s’est construite par la recherche permanente de qualité, et le respect de la clientèle. La maison Joseph Janoueix reste unie et persiste à perfectionner l’entreprise.

Première génération :
Jean Janoueix et Léonard Estrade

A la fin du 19ème siècle, Jean Janoueix, né à Combressol (Corrèze) en 1867, un pays rude qui forge des hommes solides, entreprenants et obstinés, ainsi que Léonard ESTRADE, décident de se lancer dans le commerce de vins.

Deuxième génération :
Joseph et Marie-Antoinette Janoueix

En 1930, il réalise son rêve : il acquiert dans le terroir des Grands Crus Classés le Château Haut-Sarpe à Saint-Emilion; un peu plus tard, il ajoute à son patrimoine les Châteaux La Croix et La Croix Saint Georges, à Pomerol.

Fort de ce premier succès, en 1932 il entreprend la restauration du domaine et n’a de cesse depuis cette époque, d’agrandir son patrimoine viticole, imité en cela par ses trois frères.

En 1933, Joseph Janoueix épouse Marie-Antoinette Estrade, elle aussi corrézienne de vieille souche et fille de négociant. Femme de tête, de coeur et d’action, elle a été le complément indispensable de Joseph.

Troisième génération :
Jean-François et Françoise Janoueix, Marie-Josèphe Chabut-Janoueix

Jean-François Janoueix, le fils de Joseph Janoueix et Marie-Antoinette Estrade, a pris la suite de son père à la tête de l’entreprise et dans la visite de la clientèle qu’il a étendue à présent au monde entier. Il réalisa à son tour un rêve précis : celui de ressusciter ses dernières acquisitions : le Château Castelot à Saint-Emilion (vieille demeure où le roi Henry IV, dit-on, séjourna) et le Château La Croix Toulifaut à Pomerol.

Françoise Janoueix, l’épouse de Jean-François est responsable des exportations et des finances.

Marie-Josephe Chabut-Janoueix, soeur de Jean-François est, elle aussi, présente dans l’administration de la Maison; son fils, Henry Chabut-Janoueix, diplômé en viticulture et oenologie, est directeur général et commercial.

Quatrième génération de la Famille Joseph Janoueix

Jean-Pierre Janoueix, fils de Jean-François et Françoise Janoueix, s’occupe du bureau de Londres, et prospecte les pays nordiques. Il possède le Château La Gasparde, propriété en Castillon Côtes de Bordeaux, Château Queyron et Haut Ferranda à Saint-Emilion. En 2008, il a pris la responsabilité de la maison Joseph Janoueix et est devenu le nouveau président directeur général.

Jean-Philippe Janoueix, frère cadet de Jean-Pierre, est le propriétaire talentueux des Châteaux la Confession (Grand Cru Saint Emilion), Croix-Mouton et Le Conseiller (Bordeaux Supérieur), et depuis 2014 du Château Cap d’Or rebaptisé Cap Saint George (St Georges St Emilion). Il a été consacré «Vignerons de l’année».

Henry Chabut-Janoueix a repris la clientèle de son grand-père en Bretagne et en Normandie; il possède, quant à lui, les Châteaux Franc-Cantenac (Grand Cru Saint-Emilion), La Rose Saint Georges (St Georges St Emilon) et Saint Genès (Castillon Côtes de Bordeaux).

Jean-Joseph Limoujoux-Janoueix, fils de Marie-Françoise Limoujoux-Janoueix est responsable commercial du département de la Corrèze.

Olivier Badia participe très efficacement à la force de vente en France et en Belgique. Son fils Thomas est l’arrière petit-fils de Marie-Antoinette et Joeseph Janoueix.

Frédéric Chevrier-Dupin, gendre de Marie-Josephe Chabut-Janoueix, a choisi de quitter la banque pour compléter notre équipe.

Cinquième génération :
Joseph Janoueix et Paul-Alexandre Chevrier-Dupin

La cinquième génération est en route pour prendre le flambeau. Joseph Janoueix et son cousin Paul-Alexandre Chevrier-Dupin viennent d'intégrer l’école de Purpan pour devenir ingénieurs agronomes.

Maintenant, huit membres de la jeune génération sont les ambassadeurs de nos Domaines.